How do you learn?


Recently I joined Marian Way from Clean Learning to assist her with the final phase of the 12 day training programme at Clean Learning. ( I highly recommend their training programmes)  I was an observer feeding back observations so that Marian and Sharon could steer the training in the right direction. For a few days I had to observe and not speak even if I saw someone go slightly of course I had to let them find their own way out. Oh my gosh I found that so hard. Great learning for me. I realise how much I want to help and then the helping in fact gets in the way of their other persons learning.

Are you getting in the way of others learning?

Are you preventing the people who matter to your success or happiness, from learning from their own mistakes?

Big learning for me and so glad I had the opportunity to experience it in such a safe place.

I work with parents and business owners who want to motivate others. I help them find ways to stand back and give others the space to learn and yet….me I suddenly found myself stuck almost wanting to scream but what about…..fascinating, absolutely fascinating.

So here are a couple of question, when you want someone else to do something, when you find yourself thinking ‘they should’ just check in with yourself:

1. Can I do that? Am I doing that? Would the learning be more beneficial if ‘I’ started by applying it myself?

2. What needs to happen for you to support but not interfere in a way that allows them to learn for themselves?

I realised that the observations I made, the ones inside my head I wanted to scream out loud were in fact great observations, but for my learning as much as anything. What I learned is that when I explaining to someone else about what they could have/should have done…that process lets me understand my own thinking. So it is all about my learning. Now that is not to say sometimes it is not helpful for others. But it certainly has to be invted by others not imposed to releive yourself of your own curiousity to prove you were right that you did understand and know more.

BIG LEARNING FOR ME!!

All great learning that will of course take my own facilitation to another level, improve my relationships with my children and go some way to building a great company to work with.

What have you learned about yourself this week?

Thank you for Listening

Sheryl

 

 

About Step by Step Listening

I am the founder of Step by Step Listening and we started as a company that eradicated fear of failure and guilt for mums, we coached mums and daughters, we then worked with sole trader and small business owners and over the years we developed a unique ability to help people create the family or business they desire by being able to tap into the resource of being able to sell ideas/prodcuts/visions/services in a way that feels right and gets results. For some they are learning to sell and idea to themselves perhaps a dream or an ambition they have had for years, for others it could be selling responsibility and independence to a teenager or perhaps selling a vision or a change of structure to a team. What ever it is we use unique a unique facilitation and group process to help you discover when you are selling in a way that feels right that's like what?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

