Does your business have a metaphor everyone buys into or is it just yours?


Great leaders and speaker all know that if you can grab the attention of others with a great metaphor. You can win hearts and influence people.

How do you know if you are using the right metaphor to really engage those around you?

The answer is in our opinion, use their own metaphors and get them involved in developing the one that represents the business best.

As many of you know Mark my husband and now business partner was recently laid off.

He said when he lost his job it was like he had lost half is worth. For many of us our worth is wrapped in the work we do and so it has to feel right. But then some people avoid dealing with that because it sounds too ‘pink and fluffy’  when we talk about it ‘feeling’ right. The great news is that the metaphor work, we do handles feelings in a positive, constructive, efficient and effective way.

Men and women alike are blown away by the results this process can achieve and grateful that we are not ‘navel gazing’as one of our clients recently put it. This is a good job because Mark is a man of few words.

It is important for Mark and I to work at our best and to really enjoy the role we have whether that is in our marriage or within the business or in the family so we decided to develop our own metaphors for working at our best.

Mark’s Metaphor

Mark is on a freeway, there are as many lanes as needed. He is in front just a little ahead a bit like an arrow. It is safer than a ‘B’ road, everyone is going in the same direction the road ahead is straight. When asked what is happening now, he said “he was on the B road” Mark along with our team will now work out what needs to happen to be on the freeway,
upfront and what kind of vehicle that is. We only spent a few minutes
developing this while working our dog one evening. (of course I am a certified
Clean language facilitator so I would say it is easy, but you can soon learn
how to understand other people’s metaphors if you take the time to ask the right
questions and listen more effectively)

Sheryl’s Metaphor

Then Mark asked me what is happening when I am working at my best? I said “well I am on the bridge over that Freeway. With a little more development I realised a bridge gave me the view point I wanted but it was too static so it changed to be on one of those filming trucks where you are in a carriage slightly elevated and travelling at an equal speed
to the convoy. I also recognise that I do need to stand still and simply observe so moving all the time is no good either. I now see myself in a helicopter that can hover above them, stop at relevant bridges. Allowing me to get out and simply observe what is happening from all perspectives. I can see the route ahead and see where we have come from.

I can also get down and ask the convoy what is happening. When I am working at my best I am on the bridge at regular intervals, I am also down on the freeway at the services asking what is happening, how the cars are performing, what kind of journey they would like then I take a helicopter ride to explore ahead a route that fits everyone. Coming back and reporting if their is anything that is not congruent with the team as a whole.

I also see a big Step by Step Listening bus in the middle.

When asked what is happening now I realised that I am the driver of the bus, the driver of the director chair vehicle and the director, I was also the breakdown vehicle on the side, I was the hostess that was meeting and greeting the clients who got on the bus, I was the one
writing the bus timetable, and that perhaps sometimes  I spend quite a lot of time checking that my clients have the right route flying back and forwards. and but perhaps I now need help to make sure I secure the right freeway for our business. I also recognise that I have to have a meadow, time to chill in the field of yellow flowers to relax and not be worried about the freeway at all.

So it will come as no surprise for you to hear that I am now in discussion with a wonderful lady who will be soon taking on the role of Operations Manager and recruiting PA’s/ secretarial support for both Mark and I. Plus I am about to take 2 weeks off from the 15th August.

We have 10 FREE 30 minutes consultation on the 30th July and 5th August.

Would you like to know more about developing a metaphor for working at your best?

When you are working at your best what happens to;

  • business
  • relationships
  • health
  • life

Extreme Listening- Productive Thinking

Focusing your Mind for Greater Efficiency

Call me today 01329 286648 or email Sheryl@stepbysteplistening.com

Thank you for Listening

Sheryl

About Step by Step Listening

I am the founder of Step by Step Listening and we started as a company that eradicated fear of failure and guilt for mums, we coached mums and daughters, we then worked with sole trader and small business owners and over the years we developed a unique ability to help people create the family or business they desire by being able to tap into the resource of being able to sell ideas/prodcuts/visions/services in a way that feels right and gets results. For some they are learning to sell and idea to themselves perhaps a dream or an ambition they have had for years, for others it could be selling responsibility and independence to a teenager or perhaps selling a vision or a change of structure to a team. What ever it is we use unique a unique facilitation and group process to help you discover when you are selling in a way that feels right that's like what?
This entry was posted in business, Business Facilitation, Business Growth, Business ideas, Business support, Focus and Goals, Managing Business Growth, Redundancy, relationship building, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

