Do your clients have to beg to work with you or do you make it easy?


Forgive me this might sound a bit like a rant which it is. But it also a mistake so many people make. I really feel for business owners that want to grow their business and yet they get customer service so wrong and yet it is so simple. People underestimate the value it adds to a service if the people delivering it take the time to really listen, really understand and respond promptly when they said they would.

I have recently booked services with people, and yet they have not replied to emails or telephone messages. It makes me think can I be bothered to turn up for my next treatment.

This week I visited my hairdresser.( a few too many skype calls looking at myself at 8am made me realise I was well overdue lol!!)

Anyway I digress slightly, I went to the hairdressers. I went in and asked for a cut and colour. Well the face that was looking at me was so indifferent.(this lady has done my hair 3 times before and knew me by name) But you would have thought I was a complete pain for ruining her afternoon. After a few glum questions we secured a date. If I had transcribed the conversation here, word for word the conversation would not sound so bad. But it was her manner. Every questioned she asked it was as though I got the answer wrong and the response came with a sigh. I felt as though I was failing some kind of test to be a customer.t

The point of the blog I had so much on my mind when I walked in that day, if that lady had just taken a bit more interest, seemed a little pleased to see me then my experience would have been so much better. Instead of ranting here I would be looking forward to 3 hours in the salon being pampered. Rather than doing what I did which was cancel the appointment opting to let my husband colour my hair.(a saving of £55 plus we had a great laugh) I do have to go to have it cut despite the very kind offer of my son to have a go and I will go back but I think this will be my last time.

Customer service is simple, listen, ask questions and be GENUINELY interested. Then act on the information and deliver on time. Educate your clients in a kind and respectful way, about your working parameters. All I needed to know is that I had to know if I was having full head or t section and that I must book 2-3 weeks in advance. Simple, let them know the rules so they can play by them. That way everyone is happy.

What needs to happen for it to be easy for your clients to buy?

When do you start to really listen and treat them as a potential client?

When does the experience of doing business with you start?

I have had so many people who I have been interested in doing business with but they failed to take an interest in what I wanted/needed. I know many people don’t like to pester their potential clients. Well as a clients I don’t like to beg to be served.

What needs to happen for your to understand what your clients would like to have happen?

Thanks for Listening

Sheryl

About Step by Step Listening

I am the founder of Step by Step Listening and we started as a company that eradicated fear of failure and guilt for mums, we coached mums and daughters, we then worked with sole trader and small business owners and over the years we developed a unique ability to help people create the family or business they desire by being able to tap into the resource of being able to sell ideas/prodcuts/visions/services in a way that feels right and gets results. For some they are learning to sell and idea to themselves perhaps a dream or an ambition they have had for years, for others it could be selling responsibility and independence to a teenager or perhaps selling a vision or a change of structure to a team. What ever it is we use unique a unique facilitation and group process to help you discover when you are selling in a way that feels right that's like what?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

