What happened last week?


well many of my clients are great at what they do but sometimes forget to do it for themselves. What I mean is that PA’s organise everyone else and keep everybody else’s books in order but struggle to keep in top of their own. Plumbers will leave plumbing jobs at home unfinished. Tele-sales trainers will make 100’s for calls then forget to make the calls to increase their own business. So you won’t be alone if you are out there promoting something and then forgetting to take your own advice. One of the coaching questions I was told before I went down the Clean Language road was, if you had a best friend with a similar problem what would you tell her to do.

Well I was that person, I was aware that I was not getting referrals. Well not as many as I would like. So I took my own advice and I asked my loyal and very successful clients what needs to happen for it to be easy for your to refer me? Here is what they said:

I still find it hard to describe what you do so it would be handy to have a leaflet or something.

It would be good to bring them to a session( bear in mind most of my programmes require a 6 month commitment to something they can’t describe)

With others clients we brainstormed how to describe what I do. They said ” you use a powerful communication skill which helps us gain clarity, focus, direction and it is all in a very supportive environment”

They were also unclear what kind of clients I was looking for. I was able to explain that I was looking for 2 kinds.

  1. A sole-trader who was working long hours but the money they earned did not seem to justify it. And they wanted to support to find the area to focus on that would start to create a steady stream of income.
  2. Someone within the NHS that wanted management/Dr’s and Nurses to have the support and time to build relationships so that they could function more effectively when under pressure and suffering from sleep deprivation.

As a result of talking to my clients asking them for help I then had 13 guests attend The Listening Post this month and I have one days facilitation with NHS senior management, plus I have another introduction to someone within NHS.

Are you walking your talk?

Are you making it easy for people to help you and your business grow?

Do you need more clarity about which client you are looking for to help your business achieve sustainable business growth?

Please do share your comments

Thank you for Listening

Sheryl

About Step by Step Listening

I am the founder of Step by Step Listening and we started as a company that eradicated fear of failure and guilt for mums, we coached mums and daughters, we then worked with sole trader and small business owners and over the years we developed a unique ability to help people create the family or business they desire by being able to tap into the resource of being able to sell ideas/prodcuts/visions/services in a way that feels right and gets results. For some they are learning to sell and idea to themselves perhaps a dream or an ambition they have had for years, for others it could be selling responsibility and independence to a teenager or perhaps selling a vision or a change of structure to a team. What ever it is we use unique a unique facilitation and group process to help you discover when you are selling in a way that feels right that's like what?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

