What stops your clients recommending you?


Well how fascinating I am in the business of helping people network at their best, gain sales and referrals making it possible to grow without the pressure of feeling like you are selling. Yet it would seem that I am not walking my own talk…….have you ever found yourself giving advice to a best friend then thinking, blimey I need to remember that for myself.

Well I am no different, in fact every day I hear my clients coming up with wonderful solutions and ideas, then hear myself thinking. I use to do that and I have not done that for a while myself.

Imagine how fascinated I was today when I asked 2 of my Power Group members what needed to happen for them to find it easy to invite people to one of our sessions?

Well they said:

“I find it hard to articulate what you do”

“I could do with something to hand out like a postcard that would make it easier it would be your words not mine”

And when I said I am happy for them to use their words and share their experience and that would be just right. They found it really hard to describe how they knew the sessions were benefiting.

One said I guess:

“I am growing in confidence, not beating myself up and I am pulling all the aspects of my business together, so that I can promote my business more effectively. It is like you develop the person within the business rather than developing the business. And the business just happens and grows as a result of that”

Another said:

“As a business owner you help me unravel what is holding me back and it is a safe space to explore the whole picture even if that includes home stuff”

With this in mind your existing clients who love what you do are the best people to endorse you and tell others.

But do they know how to promote you?

Do they know what kind of client you are looking for now?

 My conversation with my clients resulted in a moment when I realised that although it would be great to have more people at the Power Groups actually, right now I really wanted to help people be more effective and help them save time and money with their networking skills, therefore it was The Listening Post that I wanted promoted. Imagine my relief when the clients both went “oh well that it is fine I can explain that one”

The kind of challenges my clients often face are:

  • Trying hard to be “professional” to the point they lose who they are really and how they like to do business
  • Putting others above them eg thinking they are not good enough yet
  • Feeling that they are not qualified to charge higher rates yet
  • Lacking self belief in themselves rather than the product or service.
  • Loving what they do but hate selling
  • Often time poor
  • Wanting to have a clear path or way forward
  • Wanting direction focus and clarity about what to do next 
  • Challenging with how to make networking effective.

What needs to happen for your clients to recommend you?

The chances are you know the answer, I train this stuff but guess what I forget like everyone else to implement my learning 100% of the time. By working with me as a Clean Language facilitator I can help you resurrect those answers and solutions and explore if they are still right for you now and if anything else needs to happen for that to happen?

I forget like the best of them and I need someone to help me pull myself back on track too.

Who is helping you keep your business on track?

Please share your thoughts thank you for listening

Sheryl

About Step by Step Listening

I am the founder of Step by Step Listening and we started as a company that eradicated fear of failure and guilt for mums, we coached mums and daughters, we then worked with sole trader and small business owners and over the years we developed a unique ability to help people create the family or business they desire by being able to tap into the resource of being able to sell ideas/prodcuts/visions/services in a way that feels right and gets results. For some they are learning to sell and idea to themselves perhaps a dream or an ambition they have had for years, for others it could be selling responsibility and independence to a teenager or perhaps selling a vision or a change of structure to a team. What ever it is we use unique a unique facilitation and group process to help you discover when you are selling in a way that feels right that's like what?
This entry was posted in Business Facilitation, Business Growth, Business ideas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

