What needs to happen for you to follow up potential business?


Good Morning

When I work with clients about this subject, more often than not they hate the thought of bothering the client, being a nuisance or interrupting them when they are busy. Do you ever hear someone say at a networking event, I would like to know more or I need you in my life and yet you do nothing with this information.

Then I would like to invite you to ask yourself these questions and write the responses down.  The great thing is you will answer them in your own way and that is what makes it just right for you. I have shared my own responses below.

And when you are hearing people are interested in your services:

What is happening now?

What would you like to have happen?

What needs to happen for that to happen?

Can you?

Then what happens?

 

What is happening now?

For me at Step by Step Listening, I am now logging all the business contacts, my existing clients and anyone I talk to that indicates an interest in a service I offer, into outlook. I then give it a category indicator HOT lead, WARM lead or COOL Lead. (only set this up last week we are all always learning before it was a muddled pile of cards) Thanks to Mark Andrews, who has just joined the company, offering systems and processes that support businesses to work more efficiently. Can I introduce you please:

Mark Andrews Finance Director and Business Support Advisor

 

With this system in place I can focus my attention on the HOT leads, as generating income is important right now, as in any business but more important I feel I would be letting these businesses down if I were to delay on following up. They have said they are interested and I know my service can quite literally turn their business around in a matter of weeks if not days so why would I let them down like that.

The truth is, at the moment I don’t have the man power to follow every lead up, I  then aim to keep in touch with warm/cool leads via social media. By keeping up with what is happening for them. I do this because I genuinely am interested and care about people and it works for people to get to know, like and trust me. If you are struggling with which social media or how to use it effectively dont miss the big debate on the 1st April 2011

Plus I want to know, should they change to a HOT lead because I don’t want them to miss the chance to get started.

What would I like to have happen?

I would like to feel like I am on top of the follow-up process and that I am not missing opportunities or letting people down when they have indicated they want/need my services.

What needs to happen for that to happen?

I have to delegate work to Mark, my husband, who is now actively a part of the business and let him also build some of the relationships, so that it is not all down to me. Besides he can help them with the processes and systems to follow-up. By freeing up my time and letting Mark do the accounts etc I give myself more time to build relationships.

Can you?

Yes I do need to take a step back and work out what it is I am actually doing so that I can hand over properly and I can do that in my own one to one sessions?

Then what happens?

Then everyone who shows an interest in what I do will have some kind of connection with us and they will feel the Step by Step Listening love. They will know we care about their success and if we call it is for their benefit not just so we can make money. You see I would still do my job even if I won the lottery. I would have people to handle marketing and the website. I would have my own flash lovely training centre with comfy chairs, loads of books and resources but I would do what I do because I love watching people when they have that light bulb moment. I am not calling to hassle I am calling to ensure they have all they need to succeed. (sometimes when I listen really well it is not me and that is ok I just recommend someone else if I know them)

Please do email me your responses or leave them below I would be more than happy to ask you more questions to help you find your own answers

Thank you for listening

Sheryl

About Step by Step Listening

I am the founder of Step by Step Listening and we started as a company that eradicated fear of failure and guilt for mums, we coached mums and daughters, we then worked with sole trader and small business owners and over the years we developed a unique ability to help people create the family or business they desire by being able to tap into the resource of being able to sell ideas/prodcuts/visions/services in a way that feels right and gets results. For some they are learning to sell and idea to themselves perhaps a dream or an ambition they have had for years, for others it could be selling responsibility and independence to a teenager or perhaps selling a vision or a change of structure to a team. What ever it is we use unique a unique facilitation and group process to help you discover when you are selling in a way that feels right that's like what?
This entry was posted in Business Facilitation, Business Growth, Business ideas, delegation, relationship building, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

