Is it worth talking to the little fish?


Hi

Having been self-employed for over 12 years, and managed/motivated teams for over 20 years with great success. I have now established Step by Step Listening, Networking Skills Training, professional facilitation and Team support for small business owners.

My vision is to raise the aspirations of communities through profitable partnerships, showing business owners how to work in collaboration with others.

One of the things I use to struggle with is approaching successful people, however I soon learned that these people are ordinary people and they have often been where I am today.

Recently I met with Steve Jones of Skills for Business Training. I had seen his profile on a community networking group on linked in, inspired by this I contacted him. Steve had a mutual interest in the Clean Language process that I use. So we met for coffee, well tea actually.

As we got talking I managed to ask Steve to clarify the meaning of some simple terms and acronyms that are bandied around the business world. Such as SME’s small to medium enterprise ( less than 10 employees up to about 250) It turns out that 3 of my clients are SME’s and yet I did not think I had made it there yet!!   Then there was the term IoD I had heard on twitter this week. Institute of Directors turns out to be a networking group for directors, which I did know of. however did not understand the abbreviation. By admitting what I didn’t know I now know.

We met to find out more about each others business. I found Steve really easy to listen to and would love to attend one of his motivational speeches. He has a way about him that makes you feel comfortable with who you are and able to learn and move on from there. As he described his vision for his own company his eyes lit up and that enthusiasm is infectious. I could see immediately why he wins such big contracts with senior management teams who want the best leadership skills ever. If you want your management team to have all the skills to manage themselves and their people through a recession he is your man.

At the outset I was a little naive(little fish) and asked if I were looking for a client for you, who would you want to be meeting. Steve works with some SME’s but mainly big corporate companies that have branches in UK Europe and possibly worldwide. He very politely said that I did not really have to do that. 

Our discussion continued to establish if collaboration could work for us.  Guess what I do know 3 people who I am going to introduce Steve too, who deliver the same standard of training to corporate companies but for completely different aspects of the business. I am confident that they will be able to introduce each other in the future to new clients.

Funny enough one of my clients that is a SME turns out to be someone Steve would love to meet.( felt a little bigger fish in that sea of clients at this point) It is so easy to forget what we have to offer.

It also turned out that Steve is developing a programme I would very much like to be a part of, enabling me to share my communication skills training with larger companies. This is early days and may not come off but the meeting has already created a great connection for some of my contacts and has potential for both Steve and I. I look forward to this relationship developing.

Where will your next catch of clients come from?

Thank you for listening  

Sheryl

About Step by Step Listening

I am the founder of Step by Step Listening and we started as a company that eradicated fear of failure and guilt for mums, we coached mums and daughters, we then worked with sole trader and small business owners and over the years we developed a unique ability to help people create the family or business they desire by being able to tap into the resource of being able to sell ideas/prodcuts/visions/services in a way that feels right and gets results. For some they are learning to sell and idea to themselves perhaps a dream or an ambition they have had for years, for others it could be selling responsibility and independence to a teenager or perhaps selling a vision or a change of structure to a team. What ever it is we use unique a unique facilitation and group process to help you discover when you are selling in a way that feels right that's like what?
This entry was posted in business, Business Facilitation, Business Growth, Business ideas, relationship building, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

